• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Sebastian Bueno

Sebastian Bueno

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 November 2008 - 02:12 AM

i know many people may ask this... but im really new in this scene... in fact im not even part of it yet. But the question is this, Whats is the best school to go to learn Steadicam? and if there is no school... what workshop, or where do i go to learn anything basic. I have a few workshops that ive looked at... but im looking for anyone that knows more about this than me....

Thanks guys,
Sebastian Bueno

#2 Dave Gish

Dave Gish

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • NYC Area

Posted 09 November 2008 - 07:36 AM

I think the 2-day Steadicam Flyer/ Pilot workshop is a great way to start:
Peter is a great instructor. $500 well spent.

My advice would be to buy the Steadicam Pilot for around $4000. I think this is the best rig for HD cameras up to 8 pounds (e.g. Sony EX1, Panasonic HVX200, Canon XH-A1, etc.). All of the skills you learn on the Pilot apply directly to the heavy rigs, so it's a great way to learn. In fact, because the Pilot is so light, it forces you to have a really light touch. If you decide to buy a big rig later, the Pilot will still be valuable for shoots with smaller cameras. The Pilot is light enough to use for hours at a time. This makes it possible to do run-and-gun type stuff with a Steadicam, which opens up some new possibilities.