6 replies to this topic

#1 Max M Fuhlendorf

Max M Fuhlendorf

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 September 2008 - 06:30 PM

Hi.

This is my first post. I live in Sao Paulo, Brazil, and I'm a student filmmaker. It's been a while since a Steadicam workshop has been offered here.

Here in Brazil, accredited Steadicam operators are rare and highly sought after, or so I'm told. I'm really interested in becoming an operator, so I'd like your input on the choice of workshops to learn the basics.

Which one is the best?

Tiffen's classic workshop, Maine Media Workshops', the SOP workshop?

US$3000 is a very large sum of money here in Brazil, but I'd be willing to pay that for Tiffen's Classic workshop if it's considered the best by the industry. That's because I'm a firm believer in experience over simple training, and any workshop that taught me the basics would be satisfactory, prowess can only come from extensive training. But I don't quite know the job market yet, and if you say workshop X or Y are just as highly regarded by the industry, saving a few pennies would be a huge help: I'll have to spend at least an extra US$2000 on the trip itself.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Max M Fuhlendorf

#2 Jon Beattie

Jon Beattie

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 206 posts
  • Long Island

Posted 23 September 2008 - 04:00 PM

Hi.

This is my first post. I live in Sao Paulo, Brazil, and I'm a student filmmaker. It's been a while since a Steadicam workshop has been offered here.

Here in Brazil, accredited Steadicam operators are rare and highly sought after, or so I'm told. I'm really interested in becoming an operator, so I'd like your input on the choice of workshops to learn the basics.

Which one is the best?

Tiffen's classic workshop, Maine Media Workshops', the SOP workshop?