2 replies to this topic

#1 Shane Norton

Shane Norton

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 11 September 2008 - 06:56 AM

Hello all,

I am a beginner steadicam operator who has come to this board quite often for research in the last several months. I operate a Clipper 312 with a G-50 arm and ran into an issue the other day at work.

Here's the story:

Wanting to make an adjustment to my vest, I went over to my C-stand to rest the camera. I placed the sled into the clamp and began to bow to the C-stand. As the stand began to take the weight I heard a lound "ping" sound. Kind of hard to describe, but it sounded like a spring. This obviously worried me, but as I looked over the arm I could not see that anything was wrong.

To test, I reconnected the arm and sled and lifted the camera (very cautiously). The arm lifted the weight, and held it at a much higher level than it had been. Slowly, I boomed all the weight down and suddenly to noticed the lower lift knob pop upwards. At this point I put all the weight back onto the C-stand to analyze the knob.

The lift knob was very loose. It seemed to have slipped out of it's threading. A few of us tried to play around a bit and see if we could fix it. We screwed the knob back into it's hole with the U-wrech, but we could not seem to get it to operate properly.

Our supervisor is in talks with Peter Abraham about this issue at the moment, but I was curious if anybody here had ever heard of something similar taking place. Many of you seem to have about a million years more experience then me at this point so I would love to hear from any of you.

Thanks for your time.

-Shane

Edited by Shane Norton, 11 September 2008 - 07:00 AM.

#2 PeterAbraham

PeterAbraham

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 902 posts
  • New York City

Posted 11 September 2008 - 03:19 PM

I've been on it, with his client, for a day or so. Will have firm answers once we have examined the G-50 arm in Glendale at the factory !

Best to all,