Jump to content



Photo

Preston/Cinetape


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Matt Kearney

Matt Kearney

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 25 June 2008 - 05:47 AM

HI Guys,

Anyone have and know the pin configuration for the preston to cinetape interface cable, preston part 4542, need one in a hurry, cant get one from preston to Australia in time. Its from the 4 pin lemo (serial) on the mdr2 to a 6 pin lemo on the cinetape.

Any help would be much appreciated!!!!

Thanks everyone.

Cheers

Matty
  • 0

#2 Alec Jarnagin SOC

Alec Jarnagin SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1800 posts
  • New York City, USA

Posted 25 June 2008 - 08:12 AM

Matt,

A couple HUGE things.

First, the obvious, if you have not done so already - make sure the serial port on your MDR2 is actually a four pin (they used three pins until about a year ago & then changed to four pins to add features like this one).

Second - you'll need more than the connectors and cable to make this puppy up. The reason the cable is so expensive from Preston is that it incorporates a small black box (ooohhhh - small black boxes....) that houses a board that translates Cinebabble to Prestonbabbble.

Damn good thing to have. Assistants love it.

Good luck.
  • 0

#3 Frederic Chamberland

Frederic Chamberland

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 281 posts
  • Montreal

Posted 25 June 2008 - 09:24 AM

Here is the magic box.... I opened it up to see the "magic"... There's a lot of it... As Alec mentionned, camera assistants can't go back when they use it once.

F
  • 0

#4 Charles Papert

Charles Papert

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 2224 posts
  • Los Angeles

Posted 25 June 2008 - 02:01 PM

...and at $620, a bargain! (when compared to the transmitter/receiver/readout made for the Cinetape).

p.s. Alec, as of this week I've joined you guys in the Cult of the HU3...
  • 0

#5 Alec Jarnagin SOC

Alec Jarnagin SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1800 posts
  • New York City, USA

Posted 25 June 2008 - 04:25 PM

Frederic, I'm glad there is actually something in there - I've never opened mine up!

Charles, "Cult..." I can't seem to find that menu option in my HU3..... Congrats. I think you'll be happy with it. Make sure you are running the latest firmware, etc on your MDR2.
  • 0

#6 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 25 June 2008 - 05:15 PM

p.s. Alec, as of this week I've joined you guys in the Cult of the HU3...



Add me to the Cult. Juan Ramos now owns my trusty Scorpio and I have joined the Cult of the HU3. My AC loves the cinetape interface BTW.
  • 0

#7 Ramon Engle

Ramon Engle

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 506 posts
  • Atlanta

Posted 03 August 2008 - 04:14 AM

Here's a question for you guys: Have any AC's asked if the Cinereadout could be LARGER? It does seem a bit small, but so it he OLED screen. I've sent Howard an email regarding this as well but I was suggesting a separate digital read out that would plug into the HU3 serial port and display the cinetape digits on a large easy to see screen. Be it OLED, LED or LCD but something large enough where the AC can look at the subject then quickly access the Cinetape info. What say ye?

Ramon
  • 0

#8 nealnorton

nealnorton

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 03 August 2008 - 09:30 AM

Hey Ramon, you mean a really big display? You know like the calculators for the AARP folks.

Not sayin you are old or anything. . .
  • 0

#9 Ramon Engle

Ramon Engle

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 506 posts
  • Atlanta

Posted 03 August 2008 - 10:22 AM

HI Neal. I'm not talk'n the size of a shoe box lid but 2"x4" would be nice. But now that you mention it, I do have a special drawer in my cases for my orthodic shoes, support hose, miracle ear, spare Depends and my 10 year old collostomy bag. Oh and I'll be operating very soon from my new "HANDS FREE" Hover Round. Which will be paid for by Medi Care! AKA you, me and every other poor tax paying SOB.

Ramon
  • 0

#10 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 03 August 2008 - 10:51 AM

Here's a question for you guys: Have any AC's asked if the Cinereadout could be LARGER? It does seem a bit small, but so it he OLED screen. I've sent Howard an email regarding this as well but I was suggesting a separate digital read out that would plug into the HU3 serial port and display the cinetape digits on a large easy to see screen. Be it OLED, LED or LCD but something large enough where the AC can look at the subject then quickly access the Cinetape info. What say ye?

Ramon



Maybe your AC's need their eyes checked! LOL
  • 0

#11 nealnorton

nealnorton

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 03 August 2008 - 11:18 AM

Considering that I have at least 10 years of "experience" on you, you took that very well Ramon!

I thought that rectangular yellow glow on my HU3 was an "on" light. You mean there is actually some numbers and stuff in there? Maybe my A/C had that focus box right up in front of his face to see some pertinent info. . . kinda presumed he was hiding behind that thing.

Wait till you see my new Garfield/walker rig. Very stable.
  • 0

#12 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 03 August 2008 - 12:46 PM

[quote name='nealnorton' date='Aug 3 2008, 09:18 AM' post='37567']

I thought that rectangular yellow glow on my HU3 was an "on" light. You mean there is actually some numbers and stuff in there?


LOL, Neal.
  • 0

#13 RonBaldwin

RonBaldwin

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 2351 posts
  • Los Angeles

Posted 03 August 2008 - 12:46 PM

wow...you guys spend all this $$ to upgrade to a more convenient unit for the assistant and now they are complaining they can't read it? Oi vey! Maybe pick up a sietz on ebay for a few days use and they'll miss that cool little display.

rb
  • 0

#14 Mike McGowan SOC

Mike McGowan SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 624 posts
  • Miami, Florida, USA

Posted 03 August 2008 - 08:18 PM

That would actually be pretty funny. Grab a Seitz and throw it in your kit. Show up on a job with an AC you have never worked with before and hand him the Seitz! Or supprise you usual AC with one telling them you got a great deal selling your FIZ and you picked the Seitz up for a song. I think having the 2nd or the loader video tape their reaction from a distance might be priceless!!!!
  • 0

#15 JimBartell

JimBartell

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 496 posts
  • Long Beach, CA, USA

Posted 04 August 2008 - 05:03 AM

That would actually be pretty funny. Grab a Seitz and throw it in your kit. Show up on a job with an AC you have never worked with before and hand him the Seitz! Or supprise you usual AC with one telling them you got a great deal selling your FIZ and you picked the Seitz up for a song. I think having the 2nd or the loader video tape their reaction from a distance might be priceless!!!!


Or if you really want some shock/trauma, I've got a WRC-3 you could borrow. This sight of that black, wrinkle-tone paint alone is enough to induce vomiting amongst the weak.

Jim "Mwa-ha-ha" Bartell
  • 0




Boland Communications

BOXX

Media Blackout - Custom Cables and AKS

IDX

rebotnix Technologies

Paralinx LLC

PLC - Bartech

SkyDreams

PLC Electronics Solutions

Omnishot Systems

Wireless Video Systems

Engineered Cinema Solutions

Betz Tools for Stabilizers

Varizoom Follow Focus

Ritter Battery

GPI Pro Systems

Teradek