#1 Matt Cooper

Matt Cooper

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK

Posted 14 January 2008 - 07:51 AM

Hey folks,

I'm a complete newbie here, so just a quick intro; I'm a student in my final year studying Film Production Technology at university in the UK and although I have DV and studio camera experience, I have almost none using a steadicam or other stabilization rigs.

As I'm looking to go into steadicam operation as a career, I am looking into camera stabilization for my final year project and was wondering if I could put a few questions to those who have experience in the field.

The first and probably most obvious one is; What is the best way to get into the industry? Is there anything you would encourage or discourage?

The second is; What advice would you give to a steadicam newbie? Any tips or techniques you would suggest, or anything you would advise against?

Thirdly, are there any up and coming rigs or techniques that I should look in to, where is the future of stabilization rigs going?

Thanks for reading the post, any help or advice given would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Mike McGowan SOC

Mike McGowan SOC

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 610 posts
  • Miami, Florida, USA

Posted 14 January 2008 - 10:28 AM

While there are a host of answers to these questions, the one you will for sure hear the most is that you should go to a workshop. There are many of them in the US and probably several in the UK as well. They range in length from a day to a week long and you will definitely learn a lot about all aspects of Steadicam, including whether or not you are actually interested in doing it for a living (because although it sounds great, it's definitely not for everyone).

So my advice is to take a workshop (just google Steadicam workshop).

Hope that helps,

#3 Jerry Holway

Jerry Holway

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 716 posts
  • Philadelphia

Posted 14 January 2008 - 11:21 AM