Photo

Merlin vest and arm arrive tomorrow, any hints etc?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Oliver Horn

Oliver Horn

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Cambridge, UK

Posted 12 November 2007 - 02:12 PM

Hi. I should hopefully receive my vest and arm for my Merlin tomorrow. Any wise words for a complete newbie? I'm running a Canon XH-A1 with wide angle adapter, works well on Merlin on its own.
Many thanks,
biggestelk

#2 Erik Brul

Erik Brul

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 444 posts
  • Almere, The Netherlands

Posted 12 November 2007 - 03:55 PM

Hi. I should hopefully receive my vest and arm for my Merlin tomorrow. Any wise words for a complete newbie? I'm running a Canon XH-A1 with wide angle adapter, works well on Merlin on its own.
Many thanks,
biggestelk

Yes.. be careful but most of all : HAVE FUN !!!! :lol:

#3 Oliver Horn

Oliver Horn

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Cambridge, UK

Posted 13 November 2007 - 04:29 PM

OH YES! I am really having fun already, but I see what you mean about being careful, it can be a handful!
Regards, Oliver.

#4 Ali Janah Abdullah

Ali Janah Abdullah

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Brunei Darussalam

Posted 29 November 2007 - 08:38 AM

OH YES! I am really having fun already, but I see what you mean about being careful, it can be a handful!
Regards, Oliver.

First off, I may be off topic here but is there an alternative to the steadicam vest and arm for the merlin ? Considering the price for the arm and vest (for the Merlin) is about USD1,999 which is a bit too steep for a hobbyist like me. It may be ok if you are doing this for money.

Would there be a considerable advantage of using the steadicam vest and arm as opposed to using an 'alternative' from other vendors that may be able to fit the merlin at a cheaper price point or it simply won't function at all ?

Thanks everyone !

#5 Afton Grant

Afton Grant

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 908 posts
  • New York, Boston