• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kash

kash

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 October 2007 - 11:09 PM

I am totally new to this and have been considering buying the Glidecam or a Steadicam SK (used) they don'te even seems to make this anymore? I'm concerned about parts etc. Which is the better unit? Any advice would be appreciated. -Kash

#2 Steve Fracol SOC

Steve Fracol SOC

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 148 posts
  • Thousand Oaks, CA

Posted 04 October 2007 - 11:55 PM

I would go with the SK personally. They might even have a few new ones left in inventory...Not sure.

Then again if I were starting at this all over again I would buy a Steadicam Flyer. It is all the real stuff just smaller, lighter and cheaper. It will hold up to a 15 lb camera. The Flyer was not around till recently. Great system for starting out.

Contact Frank Rush or Peter Abraham to see if they still have parts for the Video SK. I am pretty sure they do. If you can't reach them try Kyle at ext 17.

You can reach them at Tiffen.

Tiffen 818-843-4600

Good luck with your decision.

Steve Fracol

#3 Rob Vuona SOC

Rob Vuona SOC

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 1143 posts
  • Los Angeles

Posted 05 October 2007 - 06:14 PM

I am totally new to this and have been considering buying the Glidecam or a Steadicam SK (used) they don'te even seems to make this anymore? I'm concerned about parts etc. Which is the better unit? Any advice would be appreciated. -Kash

----------------------------
Hey there Kash,
I would take Steves advice with the SK, and as the luck would have I have one that I just rebuilt, I wasn't considering selling it but I could be persuaded. Call me or email me off the forum @ Robvski@aol.com and I can send you some pictures.

I added all kinds of goodies . . .

#4 JobScholtze

JobScholtze

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 1361 posts
  • Netherlands

Posted 07 October 2007 - 06:09 PM