11 replies to this topic

#1 Daniel Abboud

Daniel Abboud

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 42 posts
  • Toronto

Posted 29 May 2007 - 07:40 PM

Can anyone please tell me what thrust bearings are for??? (do they sit in the Gimble atop the arm post?)

Thanks!

-Dan.

#2 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 29 May 2007 - 08:21 PM

Can anyone please tell me what thrust bearings are for??? (do they sit in the Gimble atop the arm post?)

They are for low cost arms and gimbals.....

#3 Daniel Abboud

Daniel Abboud

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 42 posts
  • Toronto

Posted 30 May 2007 - 10:32 AM

Granted I didn't pay $75G's for my rig, but I'm new at this and I have a respectable Masters sled and IIIa arm and I 'm having a problem with the arm post binding in it. Will thrust bearings help the gimble to swivel on the arm post easier???

Thanks for whatever help you can offer!

-Dan.

#4 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 30 May 2007 - 07:10 PM

Granted I didn't pay $75G's for my rig, but I'm new at this and I have a respectable Masters sled and IIIa arm and I 'm having a problem with the arm post binding in it. Will thrust bearings help the gimble to swivel on the arm post easier???

Thanks for whatever help you can offer!

-Dan.

Not to the freedom a pro arm or a g50/70 will. You are better off with a delrin or teflon ring

#5 Jerry Holway

Jerry Holway

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 737 posts
  • Philadelphia

Posted 31 May 2007 - 09:45 AM

Daniel-

Eric is right, a Delrin or Teflon ring is the ticket - a thrust bearing is way too thick and therefore the arm post will put too much stress on the gimbal handle - it will snap at the clamp.