2 replies to this topic

#1 Kelly McClure

Kelly McClure

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • St. Louis, MO

Posted 05 January 2007 - 09:25 AM

Hello, I'm a newbie and have just recieved an SK2. I know it's a basic model but for what I do it should work out for now. I shoot mostly video with a Sony IMX in 30P and 16 X 9 mode. My question is do any of you know of a monitor that I can replace the 4 X 3 monitor on the SK? I would like a 16 X 9 that can take a SDI input. I've contacted Tiffen with no luck. I have a class scheduled with Janice Arthur in a few weeks to learn the rig but thought I would check here.

I'm really excited to be using Steadicam. I'm a DP and have been shooting for fifteen years and this will be my first experience operating a rig. I've been reading this forum for a few weeks and have learned a great deal. What an amazing forum and wealth of knowledge.

Thanks in advance for your help.

#2 Alec Jarnagin SOC

Alec Jarnagin SOC

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1776 posts
  • New York City, USA

Posted 05 January 2007 - 09:57 AM

If you are not already aware, be careful about replacing the green screen on an SK. The distance of the monitor and battery from the center post were designed to compliment each other, keeping the rig in dynamic balance. If you put a lighter monitor on there, I strongly suggest changing the monitor arm as well to one that telescopes so you can alter this distance to maintain balance.

Enjoy Janice's class. She is a great teacher. I'd recommend not changing the rig until after the workshop so you'll have a better understanding to the ins & outs of balance as well as a better sense of what other monitors are out there.

Good luck.

#3 JobScholtze

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 1359 posts
  • Netherlands

Posted 05 January 2007 - 10:57 AM

Shooting in IMX 30 i assume your using a XD Cam. Be careful with that, with a mattebox and some other stuff you max out the arm.