#1 flemming laybourn

flemming laybourn

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 04 April 2004 - 03:09 AM

Hello out there..!

Since nothing much seems to be happening on the forum right know, mayby some
of you have the time to give me a little feedback...
I have been using a Master rig for 7 years, but just sold it. Got the MK-V AND just
wired the downpayment for my new Pro-arm... I know that I can probably find
alot about it in the archive... But please give me some "fantasy material"... what
Can I expect..? other previous master owner who now use pro...?

All the best

Flemming Laybourn

#2 WillArnot

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 292 posts
  • New York City, San Francisco, Los Angeles

Posted 04 April 2004 - 02:16 PM

Oh man. You won't be dissapointed. I too was a Master owner for 8 yrs. I went to Greg Bubb's Ultimate sled (amazing) & the Pro arm. I was blown away by its performance. Greater boom range by far. Being 6'6" I found this particularly helpful. NEVER have to worry about another lock up again (nudging the arm w/ your elbow in order to finish the shot).

First & foremost however is the modularity and protection from the elements. The spring canisters are GENIUS. All 4 pop out in under 30 seconds, and are totally sealed from the elements. You can then literally hose off the arm chasis under running water!

I did the Ron Howard movie in New Mexico last year... it was a western with horses & tons of dust. TONS. My Master Arm would never have held up to that amount of grime. It would have needed a complete overhaul, new bearings etc. The PRO arm was SO easy to maintain in the adverse conditions. Even in the wet too, it's almost fine to let it get drenched b/c it's SO easy to take apart and dry every component. Then just wipe it all down w/ some T-9 to preserve and protect the metal. This will also help it shed the water.