• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Brett Persons

Brett Persons

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 October 2006 - 01:10 AM

Hello everyone. The name's Brett and im completely new to the world of steadicam. I am very interested in the field and would like to ask a few questions that i feel are necessary. I would like to know from you guys that are trying to get into the field now, how difficult is it. Purchasing a rig, which i understand to be the only way to get into the field, will be the most expensive thing i have ever bought. I need to know, if i am going to buy one and start doing some things, how crowded is the market of steadicam operators? Are there hundreds of you guys all fighting for the same jobs? Do the guys that suck get weeded out quick or do they take the open spots up too?

Another topic. I live in Florida. My brother who is a steadicam operator in California says that he is pretty sure i could find a bit of work here but that i should ask around to know for sure. Anyone out here in FL that can give me a first hand account of trying to find work?

Any other advice that anyone can give me, or any things that you guys think a new guy that doesn't know much should know, im listening. Thanks all.

Brett Persons

#2 Brett Persons

Brett Persons

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 October 2006 - 12:25 AM

its been a day and the post has 65 views. One of you 65 must have some sort of input for me. Again, any help would be greatly appreciated

#3 Matt Burton

Matt Burton

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • UK

Posted 02 October 2006 - 04:17 AM

Hey Bret,
First bit of advice is read the forum archives as much as possible, second bit of advice is take a workshop ASAP !

Can your brother not fill you in on all this ?
-matt

#4 Brett Persons

Brett Persons

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 October 2006 - 01:03 PM