Jump to content



Photo

Trimpacs/Pro


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Edgar Colon

Edgar Colon

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 32 posts
  • Bayamon, Puerto Rico

Posted 22 September 2006 - 03:42 PM

Hi to all:

Does anybody know if AB Trimpacs has enough clearance in a Pro batt module???
(Back ones)

Thanks

Edgar

Attached Files


  • 0

#2 Louis Puli SOC

Louis Puli SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
  • Australia ,New Zealand

Posted 22 September 2006 - 09:18 PM

Hi to all:

Does anybody know if AB Trimpacs has enough clearance in a Pro batt module???
(Back ones)

Thanks

Edgar


Hi Edgar
The size of the trimpac is 6-3/8 x 4-13/16 x 1-5/8 . 2-3/4 lbs
I don't think you will have a problem at all.
Hope this helps
Louis Puli from down under B)
  • 0

#3 Erwin Landau

Erwin Landau

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1699 posts
  • TBD

Posted 23 September 2006 - 04:37 AM

George modified the PRO 2 base to accept the Trimpac's in all positions (clearing the movement). I believe if you bought your base in the last 2 years, you should be fine. I know for a fact that the monitor bracket will not fit if you use the Trimpac in the back top position. I don't know when and if they changed the bracket. I remember seeing a prototype at GPI a while back. Give George a call...

Good Luck,

Erwin
  • 0

#4 geoff shotz

geoff shotz

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 172 posts
  • los angeles, ca.

Posted 23 September 2006 - 03:07 PM

i think erwin means the record deck bracket will not fit in the top rear position.

geoff
  • 0

#5 Edgar Colon

Edgar Colon

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 32 posts
  • Bayamon, Puerto Rico

Posted 23 September 2006 - 05:35 PM

Hi guys,

Thanks for the imput...

I indeed talk to George yesterday about the subject and he told me that trimpacs don't fit on the bracket, I imagine he was referring to the monitor battery side, what I forgot to tell him is that I want to put them in the "recorder" two position side (picture), since I use Dionics for the monitor (3 batt config)
Basically I'm looking for an alternative to my Proformers that are getting "old"
(Don't have the budget for a whole set of dionics)

Still don't know if I'm able to put those trimpacs in "my bracket" since I bought it 4 years ago.

Edgar

Attached Files


  • 0

#6 Alec Jarnagin SOC

Alec Jarnagin SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1800 posts
  • New York City, USA

Posted 23 September 2006 - 06:28 PM

Edgar,

Contact Sergei Franklin (www.earthvideo.net). I know he uses Trimpacs on the rear of his sled. I believe he filed down some screw or something. I use Jerry Hill's battery cage so I'm a bit foggy here.

Regarding the mod to the Pro 2 cage a couple of years ago, I believe that was to accommodate Performers in the front battery position.

Good luck.
  • 0

#7 Dan Coplan

Dan Coplan

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 507 posts
  • Los Angeles

Posted 23 September 2006 - 10:39 PM

I have a PRO sled and Digital Trimpacs. They fit on the rear of the sled fine but an adapter is required for the front in order to push the batt far enough away to clear.

I'm not at home so I can't tell you exactly what the adapter is but I got it from Ramon Engle who is active on this forum so contact him and he should be able to tell you exactly what it is.

Dan
  • 0

#8 Erwin Landau

Erwin Landau

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1699 posts
  • TBD

Posted 24 September 2006 - 01:20 AM

Thanks Geoff,

I meant the onboard recorder of course...

Shouldn't be writing after a 17 hours day...


They paid overtime... but it's just not worth it.


Fly safe,

Erwin
  • 0

#9 Ramon Engle

Ramon Engle

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 506 posts
  • Atlanta

Posted 25 September 2006 - 10:08 PM

Thanks Geoff,

I meant the onboard recorder of course...

Shouldn't be writing after a 17 hours day...


They paid overtime... but it's just not worth it.


Fly safe,

Erwin

Hi Guys. Use an Anton Bauer Data Tap on the front battery position. It will allow you to use Trimpacs and Pro Pacs. I modifed the rear battery mount with a simple adjustment I just can't remember what I did. I modified the sled 4 years ago and no longer own a PRO sled. But it is a simple modification. Perhaps Dan can take photo of the rear mount and post it here.
Ramon
  • 0

#10 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 25 September 2006 - 10:24 PM

Hi guys,

Thanks for the imput...

I indeed talk to George yesterday about the subject and he told me that trimpacs don't fit on the bracket, I imagine he was referring to the monitor battery side, what I forgot to tell him is that I want to put them in the "recorder" two position side (picture), since I use Dionics for the monitor (3 batt config)
Basically I'm looking for an alternative to my Proformers that are getting "old"
(Don't have the budget for a whole set of dionics)

Still don't know if I'm able to put those trimpacs in "my bracket" since I bought it 4 years ago.

Edgar



Have your Proformers re-celled. Check out Rathbone Energy.
  • 0

#11 Edgar Colon

Edgar Colon

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 32 posts
  • Bayamon, Puerto Rico

Posted 26 September 2006 - 10:27 AM

Thanks to all of you guys!!!

Still open to more suggestions,
right now thinking about receilling my Proformers instead
as Sergei and Lawrence recomend.

Thanks again

Edgar
  • 0




Wireless Video Systems

Engineered Cinema Solutions

Boland Communications

Ritter Battery

Teradek

SkyDreams

rebotnix Technologies

PLC Electronics Solutions

Varizoom Follow Focus

Paralinx LLC

Betz Tools for Stabilizers

Omnishot Systems

BOXX

GPI Pro Systems

Media Blackout - Custom Cables and AKS

PLC - Bartech

IDX