#1 Jurgen Badenhorst

Jurgen Badenhorst

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Johannesburg RSA

Posted 12 August 2006 - 05:57 PM

Hey evrybody..

I have been on this forum only for a few months now I am still a very fresh operator. Overnight my work load jumped from about 5 days a month to 5 days a week..I need to ask you guys a Q: how can i get my rig not to do small pendulum "sorry for the spelling" effects I am doing "Pop Idols" at the moment and when I look back at the stuff I shot it looks like the rig is making small movements left and right it is like my waist moves the rig when I walk...I have a Pro arm and rig...Do i need to shorten my Rig or do I need to adjust the arm more....i have less problems on Film rigs due to weight but I sometimes see it as well...

What can you guys suggest I do..

Regards

#2 RobVanGelder

RobVanGelder

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 919 posts
  • Bangkok, Thailand

Posted 13 August 2006 - 05:42 AM

Jurgen, it is probably a combination of a few things:

1) too tight grip with your gimbal hand, transporting the movements of your body to the rig

2) walking with too much left-right motion (stomping, like an elephant :) )

3) walking with too much acceleration and decelleration differences, eg, you must try to make your walking motion more fluid. as a test, try to walk with a glass full of water and hold that at arms length and observe if you tend to make waves that will make you spill the water.

4) Arm not adjusted to it's needed floating point. The moment you have to lift or push down the rig, you can introduce othr movements in it. Try to get the working height with extended posts, but leave the arm in about -15 degrees position (Steadicam IIIa standard) when it is loaded with the rig.
For other arms there might be a slight difference, but in general around horizontal is where your arm has the smoothest performance.

Practice, practice..... :)

#3 thomas-english

thomas-english

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members