Jump to content



Photo

Archos Pin outs


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 16 July 2006 - 05:09 PM

Who's got them? this is for the AV500 (And I think AV700) I'm looking mostly for the video out pin. I've got power, Video in and video ground figured out I just need Video out and I'm set.

Thanks
  • 0

#2 charlesneufeld

charlesneufeld

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 170 posts

Posted 16 July 2006 - 06:08 PM

you got mail...
  • 0

#3 Fred Davis

Fred Davis

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Pasadena, CA

Posted 18 July 2006 - 02:15 PM

Who's got them? this is for the AV500 (And I think AV700) I'm looking mostly for the video out pin. I've got power, Video in and video ground figured out I just need Video out and I'm set.

Thanks

Eric telephoned me & I gave him the info. :)
  • 0

#4 Joe Broderick

Joe Broderick

    Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 16 posts
  • Burbank, CA

Posted 18 August 2006 - 02:39 PM

Can anyone post the pin outs? Specifically looking for Video in & out along with audio in. Just need to know what color wires are for what. I noticed that some of them are already bundled together in the cable.

Thanks

Joe
  • 0

#5 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 18 August 2006 - 05:27 PM

I'll do a detailed write up tonight when I get home since there are some gotcha's involved.
  • 0

#6 Joe Broderick

Joe Broderick

    Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 16 posts
  • Burbank, CA

Posted 18 August 2006 - 09:38 PM

Thanks Eric.

Has anyone tried to incorporate the voltage regulator inside the PRO series 1 battery cage?

Joe Broderick
  • 0

#7 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 18 August 2006 - 11:11 PM

Thanks Eric.

Has anyone tried to incorporate the voltage regulator inside the PRO series 1 battery cage?

Joe Broderick



I've changed out the voltage regulator in the PRO II lower J box. It should be the same for the 1 You need a 5v regulator.
  • 0

#8 Joe Broderick

Joe Broderick

    Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 16 posts
  • Burbank, CA

Posted 21 August 2006 - 12:47 AM

Green - Video in
white - Video out
Red / orange - Audio in

purple & Grey - Power

I think any of the bare wires will function as a ground (they are generaly bundled with the corresponding colored wire)

Doc or anyone have a source for the 5 volt regulator. I think someone mentioned in a different thread that a cell phone is the same voltage
  • 0

#9 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 21 August 2006 - 02:00 AM

Okay guys this is what you have to do if you have a pro and you want no noise on your monitor.

From Digi-Key get yourself a Switching 5V 2Amp voltage regulator Part number 78ST205VC-ND (~$22) PDF data sheet

Then from VAC order up a 32-013-154-B Mini Function Block 1x4 Clamper/DC Restore Video DA $160 This is a small DA that can take 8-36 volts and it has solder pads for the video in/out and voltage in so it fit's inside the Pro's lower j-box between the two lemos and the circuit breakers.

Replace the 7808 voltage regulator with the one from digi-key. it wires identically to the 7808 (Pin 1 is Vin Pin 2 is ground and Pin 3 is Vout

On the VAC-Brick Pick up the V+ from the monitor circuit breaker. Pick up the ground from the same ground as the voltage regulator. on the Pro's video switch (Recorder/Monitor) unsolder the BOTTOM lead and then relocate that lead to the video in on the VAC Brick, Ground the video to the same ground that the Pro video system uses (I picked it up from the transmitter out Video ground. Connect one of the video outs from the DA to the BOTTOM of the toggle switch. Take output two and run it to the recorder Video in and then run a lead from DA Out #3 to the Transmitter out. Now you have all three video feeds isolated, Gain controlled and either clamped or or DC Restored. That mod alone is worth it.

Wire the Archos Video Pod plug to the Pro standard recorder plug.
Pin 1 Ground
Pin 2 is now 5 volts +
3 Video +
4 Video Ground
Pin 5 is Video Return which gets wired to the Yellow wire from the Archos plug

The Archos end is as follows:
Purple is +5 Volts Center of the DC Coax
Grey is Power Ground and the shield of the DC Coax
Dark Green is Video in
Yellow is Video Out
Blacks are grounds EXCEPT For the Small Shiny Black which is Audio Out Right channel
Brown Left Audio Out
Red Audio in Right
Orange Audio in Left
Light Green and Blue are the Trigger leads to start and stop the recorder when it's in pause.

If you have any question fire away
  • 0

#10 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 22 August 2006 - 07:44 PM

Green - Video in
white - Video out
Red / orange - Audio in

purple & Grey - Power

I think any of the bare wires will function as a ground (they are generaly bundled with the corresponding colored wire)

Doc or anyone have a source for the 5 volt regulator. I think someone mentioned in a different thread that a cell phone is the same voltage



Joey,I looked for my DigiKey receipt but I can't find it. Eric has told you where to find one.Thank you Eric for that AWESOME detail! I've ordered my VAC brick and will be looking for you when my sled explodes. I know where to find you.
  • 0

#11 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 22 August 2006 - 07:58 PM

I may add that Hot Glue is is a good way to attach the voltage reg and Distribution amplifier to the inside.
  • 0

#12 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 22 August 2006 - 08:19 PM

Thanks Doc.

We wrapped late when you were last on the lot, I had one of the Voltage Regs I was going to give you.

Instead of Hot glue I use crazy glue since it doesn't insulate the heatsink on the voltage regulator
  • 0

#13 Matt Petrosky

Matt Petrosky

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 190 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 22 August 2006 - 11:13 PM

Also 3M makes a great epoxy that holds solid, but can be broken/removed should the need arise down the road.

And I totally agree with Eric, the Power Trends / TI DC-DC switching regulators are tops. I have an adjustable one in my rig and I've used them in everything from Microforce zoom controllers (to protect against the new generation cameras that seem to like 28+ volts and not regulate their acc. outputs) to LCD monitors modified with Anton/Bauer Gold mounts to... the list goes on. Well worth the ~$22, very efficient, accurate, and reliable. Just an FYI, DigiKey sells many versions of these PT/TI regulators with varying specs (current ratings, output voltages, adjustable, physical size/profile, etc.) they are a great source for this stuff.

Happy soldering,
Matt
  • 0

#14 Joe Broderick

Joe Broderick

    Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 16 posts
  • Burbank, CA

Posted 22 August 2006 - 11:58 PM

Thanks Eric. Guess I have plans for the weekend.
  • 0

#15 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 23 August 2006 - 04:27 PM

[quote name='Eric Fletcher S.O.C.' date='Aug 22 2006, 06:19 PM' post='20049']
Thanks Doc.

We wrapped late when you were last on the lot, I had one of the Voltage Regs I was going to give you.


:(
  • 0




PLC Electronics Solutions

IDX

BOXX

Wireless Video Systems

Engineered Cinema Solutions

Betz Tools for Stabilizers

Paralinx LLC

Omnishot Systems

Media Blackout - Custom Cables and AKS

GPI Pro Systems

rebotnix Technologies

Ritter Battery

Teradek

Varizoom Follow Focus

SkyDreams

Boland Communications

PLC - Bartech