Photo

Contractor vs. Employee - Workman's Comp...

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Dan Coplan

Dan Coplan

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 507 posts
  • Los Angeles

Posted 18 April 2006 - 01:55 AM

I'm being asked to sign an independent contractors agreement for a production company. It states that I'm responsible for all my own taxes blah blah blah, but it goes on to say that the production company has no liability or responsibility for worker's compensation insurance.

Can anyone help me make sense of this?

A friend told me that if I'm told to be at a certain place at a certain time to film something then I'm not an independent contractor, I'm an employee so would the contract then be irrelevant?

My research on the web indicates that if I'm an independent contractor and they do not assume responsibility for insurance, if I get injured there's no limit to how much I can sue them for whereas if they do accept responsibility, damages are limited by the insurance.

Does this sound right? I know nothing about how this works so I want to make sure I fully understand before I go signing anything.

Regarding being responsible for my own taxes, I couldn't care less - I do it all the time. Just don't want to be taken advantage of.

Thanks.

Dan "Just Wants to Work" Coplan

#2 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 18 April 2006 - 02:23 AM

I'm being asked to sign an independent contractors agreement for a production company. It states that I'm responsible for all my own taxes blah blah blah, but it goes on to say that the production company has no liability or responsibility for worker's compensation insurance.

Can anyone help me make sense of this?

A friend told me that if I'm told to be at a certain place at a certain time to film something then I'm not an independent contractor, I'm an employee so would the contract then be irrelevant?