• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Navdeep Singh

Navdeep Singh

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 July 2017 - 08:25 AM

Hi need help with the swaying issue. I don't know if it's an issue or its just normal I am new to Steadicam and this is my first Steadicam. I tried sony alpha 7sii and also with 5d mark 3 and 4. After performing static and dynamic balance the sled is swaying slightly. I have also tried different drop time from 1 sec to 3 secs its the same for every change that I make. Its a brand new Steadicam. Also when I wear the vest and arm and perform a walk the swaying shows up. Let me know if I am doing something wrong or is it normal for a little sway.

#2 Navdeep Singh

Navdeep Singh

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 July 2017 - 08:34 AM

#3 Jerry Holway

Jerry Holway

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 728 posts
  • Philadelphia

Posted 17 July 2017 - 09:42 AM

While hanging off the balancing post, it should be still. So either there is wind blowing on the rig, or someone is moving the stand. It can't generate a force on its own.

When you are operating, you are moving, so you must learn how to prevent the swaying.

The issue occurs with all Steadicams. It's a consequence of how we balance the rigs - slightly bottom heavy - so the sled behaves like a pendulum.

#4 Navdeep Singh

Navdeep Singh

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 July 2017 - 10:14 PM

Thanks a lot Jerry.

#5 Michael Rathgeber der 2.

Michael Rathgeber der 2.

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 July 2017 - 01:41 PM

Hello Navdeep, the distance between upper gimbal and lower stage is to big, it should be between 1 to 3 inches. The more the cam is up there the more lever for swaying. So you need more weight up there or less down under. I'd recommend a threaded steel plate under the cam, so the weight distributes even for dynamic balance and nodal point of the camera.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk