2 replies to this topic

#1 Dan Coplan

Dan Coplan

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 501 posts
  • Los Angeles

Posted 10 November 2005 - 02:33 AM

I'm a union operator thinking very seriously about getting into Steadicam. I've been doing a lot of research but need more advice before I pull the trigger.

The two rigs that seem to be worth considering are Steadicam Ultra or Vector and GPI Pro (do you agree?). What are the pros and cons of these rigs - which would you choose if you were starting from scratch? I'd like something that would be just as capable with 16 and HD as with 35 (I shoot a lot of HD but don't want to limit myself to a rig that can only fly lighter HD cameras).

Should I take the full plunge, take out a loan, and go new or save a bunch of money and go used? Is it worth the extra money to go new? Does it make any sense to get some components new and some used? What's the possibility of developing a relationship with someone that doesn't use their rig that often and renting it so I'm not making a huge cash commitment until I know I can generate enough income to justify buying my own and they're getting paid rather than having the thing sit around collecting dust?

Training: I've heard about the 2-day with Tiffen, the 5-day with Tiffen, and the 5-day in Yellow Springs. I've heard Yellow Springs is the best, but they won't have another training until May. I've heard mixed reviews about the Tiffen trainings - some say they're very worthwhile whereas others say don't bother. What about paying an existing operator to be privately trained?

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Dan Coplan

#2 Afton Grant

Afton Grant

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • New York, Boston

Posted 10 November 2005 - 07:31 AM

Hi Dan,

Welcome. Take a day or so to read through the posts here on this forum and you'll find the answers to many of your questions.