• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 TJ McGinnis

TJ McGinnis

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 12:30 PM

I am looking to buy a Used Pro Vid 2 from a University department that hasn't used it in 3-4 years. It was always operated by a freelance professional so no students. Is there anything you would recommend me checking into? I am very new to Steadicam. We are purchasing it for possible use in a studio (cabled) as well as post production type of work with XD cams. We also shoot Cannon 5D DSLR and would love to be able to put that on it but i'm afraid it might be too light. Is it as easy as adding weight to the Stedicam to make that work? Unfortunately I haven't seen a lot of talk on the internet or these forums about the Pro Vid 2 so I haven't been able to gather much information. I believe it has a 4x3 monitor that shows shades of green. I have been told by Steadicam that the monitor can't be upgraded. Not sure the monitor will still work with an HD camera or not.  Can we just attach a separate 7" HD Monitor? I've also been told by others that I will want to upgrade to a socket block connector?  How important is this? It's being offered for a couple thousand dollars, is that around the right area? Thank you in advance for any help you can provide. I know that operating this is not easy and we are looking into hiring someone to train us 1 on 1.

#2 Chris Van Campen

Chris Van Campen

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 129 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 02:33 PM

Hi there TJ. I can't speak directly to the PV2, but there was a thread on it here:

In terms of weight with this rig (and any other), Janice Arthur's weight plates are great. Just figure out how much weight you need to get the total payload into the arm's sweet spot and give her a shout through the forum. I have three plus rods to make a cage and they're all excellent.