Jump to content



Photo

Bracket for Preston MDR 3


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 danny bishop

danny bishop

    Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 02:04 PM

Hey..

 

does anyone have a bracket for the new Preston MDR - 3 to fit on the front of a PRO sled?

Also Im looking to get a bracket for it for mounting it to the side of the camera when in studio mode..

 

Im in the UK - but any help would be appreciated...

 

thanks

 

DAnny

 


  • 0

#2 Richard James Lewis

Richard James Lewis

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • London, UK

Posted 13 February 2014 - 02:06 PM

Optical Support have designed one. Check it out.

 

Best,

Rick.


  • 0

#3 Alec Jarnagin SOC

Alec Jarnagin SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1800 posts
  • New York City, USA

Posted 13 February 2014 - 08:23 PM

PRO sells one as well.
  • 0

#4 Charles Papert

Charles Papert

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 2224 posts
  • Los Angeles

Posted 13 February 2014 - 09:10 PM

If anyone needs the shoe part of the PRO quick release mount (the part that screws to the top of the MDR), I find that I still have mine and don't need any more.


  • 0

#5 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 14 February 2014 - 06:10 PM

I believe Preston is making them. PRO is not.


  • 0

#6 James Davis

James Davis

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 638 posts
  • London

Posted 14 February 2014 - 06:58 PM

Optical support one is way nicer with more functionality, designed to work in conjunction with an element technica v-dock and also has a threaded lug for a noga arm, great for jumping between steadi, sticks, handheld etc. really nice design.


  • 1

#7 Alec Jarnagin SOC

Alec Jarnagin SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1800 posts
  • New York City, USA

Posted 14 February 2014 - 11:56 PM

Well, I bought mine from PRO and they made it. It's a different pattern than an MDR-2. Only minor drawback is that it places the MDR upside down since there are only holes on one side. I bought this months ago so maybe things have changed.
  • 0

#8 Jens Piotrowski SOC

Jens Piotrowski SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1656 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 15 February 2014 - 09:18 AM

PRO has them listed

 

http://www.gpiprosys...ston-mounts.php


  • 0

#9 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 12:27 PM

I got this one from Preston that mounts the MDR right side up. They told me Jack no longer wishes to make a similar bracket. Perhaps PRO continues to make the bracket that mounts to the bottom of the MDR 3, I don't know.

Attached File  MDR 3 bracket.jpg   50.74KB   27 downloads


  • 0

#10 Jens Piotrowski SOC

Jens Piotrowski SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1656 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 15 February 2014 - 12:45 PM

Just out if curiosity, what made you switch to the mdr3?
  • 1

#11 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 04:52 PM

Just out if curiosity, what made you switch to the mdr3?

 

Put together a 2nd system so I can rent one out. And I like the pretty lights.


  • 0

#12 Iain Baird

Iain Baird

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 269 posts
  • Toronto

Posted 15 February 2014 - 07:29 PM

I got this one from Preston that mounts the MDR right side up. They told me Jack no longer wishes to make a similar bracket. Perhaps PRO continues to make the bracket that mounts to the bottom of the MDR 3, I don't know.

attachicon.gifMDR 3 bracket.jpg

 

The version in the Preston document I was looking was a V-mount shoe system, which would work nicely for me. Do you know if they have an upright version of that mount yet?

 

IB


  • 0

#13 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 09:18 PM

I don't.


  • 0

#14 Iain Baird

Iain Baird

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 269 posts
  • Toronto

Posted 16 February 2014 - 07:15 AM

Thanks Lawrence, I've put a question in to Preston about their brackets and I'll post here what I find out.

 

I had the PRO bracket on my MDR for years and since the MDR lived on the Steadicam full time I never had an issue with it. But over the last few years with DP's wanting iris control and more and more AC's using the Preston for every mode an MDR needs to be on the camera at ALL times, not just for Steadicam. For this reason I've switched my mount on my sled and MDR to a V-mount system. I have a Betz top stage now so I machined a mating plate for the Element Technica V-mount and my Betz MDR mount.

 

Attached File  photo 1.JPG   79.89KB   51 downloads

 

Attached File  photo 2.JPG   76.82KB   39 downloads

 

Element Techinica has mounting hardware for all sorts of positions on the camera and so the MDR can remain built and plugged in but it's position can easily be moved to multiple locations on the camera - including my sled. So far it's been very handy for switching back and forth from Studio to Steadicam mode with little fuss.

 

IB

 

 

 

 

 


  • 2

#15 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 11:51 AM

i'm pretty sure you could easily mount one of those flat V-triangle thingy's to the Preston bracket I showed which he sells. That's if he doesn't do it already.


  • 0




Paralinx LLC

PLC Electronics Solutions

rebotnix Technologies

GPI Pro Systems

Ritter Battery

BOXX

Media Blackout - Custom Cables and AKS

Teradek

Wireless Video Systems

IDX

Engineered Cinema Solutions

PLC - Bartech

Boland Communications

Varizoom Follow Focus

Omnishot Systems

SkyDreams

Betz Tools for Stabilizers