4 replies to this topic

#1 Tyler Pulsifer

Tyler Pulsifer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 November 2013 - 03:56 PM

Hey All,

I'm brand new to using a steadicam(as well as brand new to the forum!)

I'm using a Steadicam Merlin II for a motion filmmaking project, but I having a pretty hard time figuring it out. I'm shooting with a canon t4i with an 18-135 lens. If someone could help me figure out setting, I would forever love you!

Normally I'm a "learn by doing" kind of guy, and I'd usually just fiddle with it on my own until I got it right. However, I'm on a pretty slim deadline for this project, and scheduling my group is becoming increasingly difficult, so my allowed 'fiddle time' isn't as long as I would have hoped.

Thanks in advance for any tips!

Best,

Tyler

#2 Victor Lazaro

Victor Lazaro

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 1231 posts
  • Sunnyside Queens, NY

Posted 10 November 2013 - 04:54 PM

Watch this video, read the quick start (Link), refer to your cookbook (Link) for the number of weights. Unfortunately, there s no shortcut to learning how to use your Steadcam Merlin. It's like asking for a shortcut to learning guitar, I can teach you how to tune it, but you will have to practice yourself. 

Also, I would advise to start with a smaller lens, and preferably not a zoom. Also know that every time you zoom in or out, you will need to rebalance the merlin all over again.

#3 Tyler Pulsifer

Tyler Pulsifer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 November 2013 - 05:27 PM

Thanks for the reply!

Yea, I'm aware that I can't just magically learn it, but much like learning guitar, it's so use if I don't know how to tune it first haha.

I was originally going to use an 18-55 but it seems to have disappeared from my bag. -.- I'll see if I can get my hands on something last minute.

#4 Neal Smith

Neal Smith

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 March 2014 - 06:55 AM