• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 chris kievman

chris kievman

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 11:58 AM

Im New to Steadicam , but not film or video.

WIth more than 20 years in film and video I have taken up steadicam and love it, I have taken one course in San Francisco, b ut need more and want to get ceritfied.

Anyone know where in Calif I can get some more training.

Thanks, Chris

#2 William Demeritt

William Demeritt

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 1043 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 29 March 2013 - 12:23 PM

Hey Chris, welcome to the forum! 

Unfortunately, you just missed the Lake Arrowhead Classic taught by Tiffen. I'm not sure of when the next California workshop will be. Lots of international workshops taught by Tiffen this year, as you can see here: http://www.steadicamworkshops.com/

On the other hand, if you're in California, there are numerous local Steadicam operators who offer private tutorial sessions that can probably give you the equivalent of a 7 day workshop in 2-3 days of one-on-one time. I know Robert Starling offers operating workshops throughout the year, and I think Steve Fracol was offering workshops last summer. Perhaps he's becoming available again soon and willing to do so.

Also, the "certification" is more of a "you've received training from established and knowledgeable operators" thing than a certification. Perhaps if enough people prod GPI PRO, they'll host another workshop? 

EDIT: whoops, also forgot Fletcher taught too! You really can't go wrong! 

#3 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 29 March 2013 - 12:35 PM

b ut need more and want to get ceritfied.

Anyone know where in Calif I can get some more training.

No such thing as Certification.  Stabilizerworkshops.com, Fracol, Myself, all teach in California

#4 chris kievman

chris kievman

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts