• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Jimmy Tan

Jimmy Tan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 September 2012 - 11:30 AM

Hi i am new to steadicam, just checking has anyone balanced a D800 with grip on a Steadicam merlin?
I tried mine and it either keeps dropping towards the right or backwards, i suspect the grip is making the right side heavier? I am using a 50mm 1.8G btw.
Any tips from the pros out there? Thanks in advance!

#2 Tom Wills

Tom Wills

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 384 posts
  • Philadelphia, PA

Posted 20 September 2012 - 12:14 PM

2 things - and I apologize if this is a little short - I'm typing this on my phone.

1. A 50mm, even on a full frame camera, is going to be nasty for a beginner on a Merlin. 35mm or 28mm will make you a happier camper.

2. If its dropping towards the back or right, move it to the left or to the front, either by changing your screw hole, adjusting the trim rollers, or sliding the camera plate for front to back. Also make sure nothing on the camera is moving - neck straps and such would kill you on a Merlin.

Also one thing to watch for is the battery grip wobbling. I know I've had vibration issues with battery grips on a canon 7D, so watch out for it. Tiny vibrations on a Merlin are huge.

#3 David M. Aronson

David M. Aronson

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 306 posts
  • Arlington, VA

Posted 20 September 2012 - 07:46 PM

Yeah, the battery grip is a bad idea for a lot of reasons.
First off, It introduces a lot of wobble and is not rigid at all. Also, having a battery grip plus a large lens is even worse.
Secondly, It adds a lot of weight. This may be a good thing on larger rigs with high minimum capacities and arms, but for a merlin, you better start working out, because you'll arms will start getting sore really fast. If you have the arm and vest, which are cheap enough that everyone should have with a merlin, disregard this.