Jump to content



Photo

CW-5HD aka Camwave


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Jens Piotrowski SOC

Jens Piotrowski SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1656 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 10 January 2012 - 07:05 PM

FYI IDX just released a Firmware upgrade for the current CW-5HD.

"We have recently released a new firmware, 1.3.0, for the current CW5HD. This firmware has a few improvements:

1.If the TX goes out of range, the re-link time is much faster with the new firmware. The TX does not have to come back so close to the RX to reestablish a link.

2.On previous firmwares, when the TX is initially turned on, an additional frequency appears on a random channel before going to its designated channel. This problem has been resolved with the new firmware."

The update is free.
  • 0

#2 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:14 PM

Hi Jens, will the Camwave work with the Epic?
  • 0

#3 Brandon Thompson

Brandon Thompson

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 77 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:52 PM

Lawrence,
I have been shooting with the epic on an indie these past 2 weeks and I am using the camwave. I haven't had any issues with the camwave or signal. I am flying the tx down low and loop out of my cinetronic to the camwave. Hope this helps.

Brandon
  • 0

#4 Daniel Stilling DFF

Daniel Stilling DFF

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 258 posts
  • Florida

Posted 10 January 2012 - 11:11 PM

I recently shot a commercial on an Epic and used my CamWave with it and it worked great. I did all sorts of high speed and no glitches.I need to point out though that it recently received new guts, so it has the latest hardware revision.


  • 0

#5 Bryant Swanstrom

Bryant Swanstrom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Santa Barbara, CA

Posted 10 January 2012 - 11:21 PM

Have a link by chance?
  • 0

#6 Jens Piotrowski SOC

Jens Piotrowski SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1656 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 11 January 2012 - 01:06 AM

Have a link by chance?



this is a hardware (EPROM chip) upgrade, it needs to be done at IDX in Torrance, takes about 20min.

contact: Zachary Shannon email: zachary@idx.tv


The only thing the camwave does not like is true 24FPS

it takes:

Video Formats: HD-1080i/59.94, 1080i/50, 1080p/23.98PsF,
1080p/29.97, 1080p/23.98 720p/59.94, 720p/50
SD-525i/59.94, 625i/50

http://www.idxtek.com/products/cw-5hd

http://www.idxtek.co...idx_cw-5hd5.pdf
  • 0

#7 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 12:42 PM

So is the Boxx Meridian $12,000 better than the Camwave Wevi with upgrades? Charles? Jens?
  • 0

#8 Jens Piotrowski SOC

Jens Piotrowski SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1656 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 11 January 2012 - 03:03 PM

So is the Boxx Meridian $12,000 better than the Camwave Wevi with upgrades? Charles? Jens?



Doc,

I can't comment on the boxx, not enough experience with it other than day-playing.

Camwave however i've owned now for about 18 months with overall very good results in my line of work, episodic tv and features, no live broadcast. Make sure to buy or test the latest production run. it has the letter "D" in the serial #. U52DXXXXX street price is at around $4900,-

http://www.bhphotovi...e_HD_Video.html

Personally i can't see myself spending 15k on a transmitter at the moment, knowing that the technology is still developing. IDX is also in the process of developing a new model (NAB?). And btw it's not that they could not make it transmitt any further, the problem is the FCC compliance which limits the output power....BOXX works around that issue by having bigger antennae
  • 0

#9 Lawrence Karman

Lawrence Karman

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 897 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 09:15 PM

Jens, have you ant experience with this J-Lab antennae addition. I used it once and it seemed to work well. The trouble I have had with the standard Wevi is when you use it outside where there is a limited amount of metal for the tx to bounce off of. Maybe it's gotten better.

Attached File  Camwave:J-Lab.jpg   31.82KB   125 downloads
  • 0

#10 Jens Piotrowski SOC

Jens Piotrowski SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1656 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 12 January 2012 - 12:05 AM

Jens, have you ant experience with this J-Lab antennae addition. I used it once and it seemed to work well. The trouble I have had with the standard Wevi is when you use it outside where there is a limited amount of metal for the tx to bounce off of. Maybe it's gotten better.

Attached File  Camwave:J-Lab.jpg   31.82KB   125 downloads


i was told it gives you about 10%-20% more reach, not sure if that worth loosing your 2 year warranty.....

my unit was able to transmitt between 200-300 feet outside on the WB backlot,

please test the latest version, if possible, Gaylen at Nebtek sells them aswell....
  • 0

#11 Julian Cheng

Julian Cheng

    Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 28 posts
  • Hong Kong

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:27 AM

Hi Jens,
Where can I do the firmware update? can I do it at home?
  • 0

#12 Robert Starling SOC

Robert Starling SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1134 posts
  • Las Vegas, NV

Posted 19 July 2012 - 11:58 AM

So is the Boxx Meridian $12,000 better than the Camwave Wevi with upgrades? Charles? Jens?


Hey Doc!

I own the CamWave but have a lot of experience with the Boxx. I bought my CamWave used for $3500 and they're roughly $5500 new. Used / Demo CamWaves seem to go for $8500-$12,000 +/- respectively. Either way you slice it up the gap is $9k-$12k difference. I'm actively on the hunt for a used Boxx.

Here's my take on your question:

The CamWave is fine for modest level productions where you don't need a lot of range and if there's a signal hit there are not so many critical eyes in video village that it raises questions. For all intent and purpose it is the Modulus or CanaTrans of the HD world just a much lesser range. We got RF drops on the old standard def systems all the time and that was accepted as the limit of the technology. Everyone understood the signal from the video tap was not for judging exposure and subtle nuances of the final image; it was for reference only.

With good picture lock, the video image of the Boxx and CamWave look the same to me.

Where the Boxx wins is when you need that solid picture lock for longer distance and more difficult RF environments. Most importantly when the budget is there for a full show that brings along higher expectations and dependency on the transmitted image the Boxx is my choice. As you know, a lot of ACs pull focus from a monitor now and more and more DPs rely on the visual monitoring instead of light meters. Plus you have DITs in the mix. For a demanding location and situations where anything less than the best won't do that is when I rent a Boxx.

As an example, casinos are RF rich and very difficult environments for the CamWave. The Boxx is nearly bullet proof there.

Also, I just noticed your posting was from six months ago! LOL! Oh well, I've typed this much so that's my story and I'm sticking to it!

Have a great day!

Robert
  • 0

#13 Jens Piotrowski SOC

Jens Piotrowski SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1656 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 19 July 2012 - 12:28 PM

Hi Jens,
Where can I do the firmware update? can I do it at home?
[/quote]


contact IDX, they will do it.

Also, the new and improved CW-7 will arrive this fall

http://www.prnewswir...-147597045.html
  • 0

#14 thomas-english

thomas-english

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1165 posts
  • UK

Posted 19 July 2012 - 04:26 PM

Cw-7 huh?

# Supported SD: 525i/59.94, 625i/50

Does that mean it does SD as well as HD or will that be SDI only?

Very interesting. I wonder if the boxx and transvideo are gearing anything for this new chipset.
  • 0

#15 Jens Piotrowski SOC

Jens Piotrowski SOC

    Advanced Member

  • Sustaining Members
  • 1656 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 19 July 2012 - 06:37 PM

Cw-7 huh?

# Supported SD: 525i/59.94, 625i/50

Does that mean it does SD as well as HD or will that be SDI only?

Very interesting. I wonder if the boxx and transvideo are gearing anything for this new chipset.



like the previous version SD & HD SDI
  • 0




Engineered Cinema Solutions

Wireless Video Systems

BOXX

Betz Tools for Stabilizers

rebotnix Technologies

Varizoom Follow Focus

IDX

Teradek

Boland Communications

SkyDreams

PLC - Bartech

PLC Electronics Solutions

Ritter Battery

Omnishot Systems

Paralinx LLC

Media Blackout - Custom Cables and AKS

GPI Pro Systems