#1 Wolfgang Troescher

Wolfgang Troescher

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 149 posts
  • Munich, Germany

Posted 11 September 2011 - 05:00 AM

Hi!

Today I produced my first demo-reel with my new Steadicam Zypher. I´m looking forward to any suggestions for improvement! I know, this reel is a little boring! I want to make a better one as soon as possible.

Next year I´m going to take a workshop (the workshops this year are already sold out). Apart from that I´m practicing, practicing, practicing...

Greetings from Munich
Wolfgang

My Demo Reel

#2 Sam Morgan Moore

Sam Morgan Moore

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 238 posts

Posted 11 September 2011 - 08:10 AM

Im a newb coming from the background of photography

I would encourage you to press pause, and ask yourself 'is this a nice photo'

I think often the answer is no in this 'reel'

Once you can see nice images you can learn to put them together using a steadicam

say the rotation shot it would be great to spin round the photographer and arrive at the image he is composing, and lock off there, but that shot, like all the others has no motivation or purpose

when you know what you are trying to do you will up the operator skills until your body can create the shots your mind wants

At the moment I see no thought so no amount of physical skill will lead to interesting shots .. IMO

S

#3 John atkinson

John atkinson

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 145 posts
  • Florida

Posted 11 September 2011 - 08:45 AM

I wouldn't call it a demo reel, but more a sample of a shot. I understand your new and lack footage. A reel is a sample of your work in the form of the steadicam moves and the level of work you have accomplished. This would illustrate your steadicam skills, pacing, composition, etc. Best of luck with your new rig.

JA

#4 Raquel BenitoBarbero

Raquel BenitoBarbero

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 September 2011 - 06:05 PM