30 replies to this topic

#1 invalid username

invalid username

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts

Posted 16 July 2011 - 11:20 AM

Hello again. I'm still a bit of a newbie, not having yet taken a workshop (I'm in the process of booking for one now), but in today's economy, it's never too early to budget.

I'm having trouble comparing a few MK-V parts, so I was hoping that people here who have worked with Howard's rigs could give a little feedback as to the differences.

The base rig that I'm looking at is the Genesis. Thanks to Howard's flexibility, though, I have a choice for the topstage, gimbal, and monitor mounting rods.

For the topstage, it's between the standard and the deluxe. For the gimbal, the standard Genesis, and the V2" fitted for a 1.5" post (the 1.5" is what makes the most sense for me financially and camera-wise). And for the monitor mounting rods, it's between standard aluminium, carbon fibre, or the V2" arm.

Unfortunatley, reading the descriptions I can't figure out what the advantages/disadvantages are (no side-along comparison). I'm willing to spend more money to "upgrade" a certain part if it will provide a long-term advantage, but without knowing anything about the components, I can't make that decision. For all of the descriptions of the less-expensive products, it says something like "behaves exactly the same as it's bigger brother, but without the cost!" Well there must be some advantage, otherwise nobody would shell out the extra cash.

I'm sure I will/would have be/been warned about buying a rig before knowing enough about it to decide between parts, but rest assured I'm not thinking about buying for a while. Still, like I said, I need to budget now so that things can go smooth later on.

I appreciate the insight!

#2 RonBaldwin

RonBaldwin

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 2351 posts
  • Los Angeles

Posted 16 July 2011 - 11:31 AM