Photo

Can the Glidecam 4000 handle a bare bones F900?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Daniel Maggi

Daniel Maggi

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 April 2011 - 11:59 PM

Hey guys I am a newbie here (hence posting in the newbie forum). I am dp'ing a student thesis project on the F900 in about a month. My question is pretty straight forward. Can the Glidecam 4000 steadicam handle this camera? (stripped down of course) No DoF adapter or special attachments. Shooting on a prime lens.

I asked Panavision (where we are getting the camera) how much it weighed stripped down and they said 15-20. This seems a little high for the glidecam (maybe 15 would work). Anyone have any experience with this? Or know if this steadicam will work? Should I track down a different steadicam? (I have access to the Glidecam for free with a vest/arm)

Thanks!

#2 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 2922 posts
  • LA, Ca

Posted 04 April 2011 - 12:07 AM

Hey guys I am a newbie here (hence posting in the newbie forum). I am dp'ing a student thesis project on the F900 in about a month. My question is pretty straight forward. Can the Glidecam 4000 steadicam handle this camera? (stripped down of course) No DoF adapter or special attachments. Shooting on a prime lens.

I asked Panavision (where we are getting the camera) how much it weighed stripped down and they said 15-20. This seems a little high for the glidecam (maybe 15 would work). Anyone have any experience with this? Or know if this steadicam will work? Should I track down a different steadicam? (I have access to the Glidecam for free with a vest/arm)

Thanks!

A F900r3 (Better hope its a R3) is 18+ lbs for the body alone, then you'll need a lens, more battery than you have on the glidecam a follow focus etc etc. When I last flew one it was in the 45lbs range for the built camera

#3 Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Eric Fletcher S.O.C.

Advanced Member