Photo

Basson Steady Blackbee PRO or Steadicam Flyer LE?

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

Poll: Basson Steady Blackbee PRO or Steadicam Flyer LE (28 member(s) have cast votes)

Which should I go for?

1. Basson Steady Blackbee 2010 PRO (0 votes [0.00%])

Percentage of vote: 0.00%

2. *USED* Steadicam Flyer LE (28 votes [100.00%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 100.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Connor Farwell

Connor Farwell

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 January 2011 - 03:42 PM

Hey guys, I'm an amateur steadicam operator, and I am looking to purchase my first rig. A close friend of mine owns the Flyer LE and has taught me everything I know on that rig. So when I decided to purchase my own rig, I naturally looked into buying the LE because of it's familiarity. My price range is around 6,500$ with some wiggle room, so I started looking for used LE's. On my search, I found a used LE for 6,800$. It has 60 hours of use and looks to be in great condition. Although, while looking around I came across the Basson Steady Blackbee PRO for 5,800$, although with the accessories I'll need it comes out to around the exact same price as the used Flyer LE. I am skeptical about straying from the Steadicam brand, especially the familiarity of the Flyer LE, but from the looks of the specs from their website, it seems like the Blackbee is the better option.

Basson Steady Blackbee PRO specs

Has anyone had any experience with Basson rigs?

Being an amateur, I am curious to the opinions of the senior operators on this forum. Should I go with a new Blackbee PRO with counterbalance and extra battery, or a used Flyer LE?

Oh and I work mostly with 5D's and 7D's, but hope to work with bigger and better camera's in the future.

Edited by Connor Farwell, 05 January 2011 - 03:45 PM.

#2 Michael Suchar

Michael Suchar

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 32 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 05 January 2011 - 03:57 PM