• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Graham Robbins

Graham Robbins

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 October 2010 - 10:33 PM

Hey all first of all hello my names Graham I have been following these forums for a while but this is my first post!

So I am still young but I have been working for 2 years now freelancing myself out as a cinematographer and getting some decent paid work. One of my best friends since we were kids is actually one of my go to operators for larger scale stuff. We have been talking about picking up a Steadicam package and using it as a second income, and a way to sub rent to the productions I am Dping to make more off them.

However my problem is that for the kind of money we would be spending on a Steadicam, that can fly the cameras we use regularly like a loaded red one, I could buy my own red one package, which is very appealing to me seeing as I personally love the crisp image of the Red.

So I'm curious to hear your thoughts on this, Should we invest in a nice Steadicam setup? I feel like that will last us longer? or should we pick up a Red. Or is it dumb of us to even want to invest in gear.

I like to be on top of technology and try new things my only concern is we will spend a ton of money and all the sudden what we have is out of style.

My last question is a technical one if we end up picking up a steadicam what is a decent starter rig that can fly the Red one. I was thinking of getting the Flyer LE, but I have heard it cant handle the weight all that well of a loaded Red. We currently have about 10 grand between us, and can probably muster another 5, would it be better to pick up a used rig? or to go with all new gear.

Thanks guys,

Graham Robbins
www.grahamrobbinsdp.com

#2 Brian Freesh

Brian Freesh

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 922 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 30 October 2010 - 11:12 PM

Welcome Graham!