Photo

Pilot for rent, how much should I charge?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Alan Rencher

Alan Rencher

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 1091 posts
  • Los Angeles

Posted 12 October 2010 - 01:41 PM

I have a Steadicam Pilot that I would like to rent out to other operators. I'm pretty new to the Steadicam community, and I'm not sure what a fair price would be for it. Also, could anyone give me pointers for renting it out (ie contracts, do's and don'ts, etc)?

I don't have a follow focus or any other accessories. On that note, does anyone rent out their follow focus kits, or should I just go to a rental house?

Thanks - Alan Rencher

#2 Bryant Swanstrom

Bryant Swanstrom

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Santa Barbara, CA

Posted 12 October 2010 - 03:43 PM

All I know is that Samy's Camera rents out Pilots for 250 a day...

#3 Brian Freesh

Brian Freesh

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 922 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 12 October 2010 - 04:02 PM

Basically, you are now a rental house, treat yourself like one.

Check out Pilot/Flyer rental prices from rental houses, see what is included in their package, and base your rental on that. Samy's is overly expensive (though I hope that comes with excellent service, I wouldn't know). You can rent a Flyer elsewhere for $250/day. It's okay to go lower, but I don't recommend going undercutting crazy. If Samy's is $250 and a lesser quality place is $150, maybe you feel okay at $200 (just an example, not gonna be upset if you don't). $100 on the other hand may get your gear rented more often (but is it more than twice as often?) but it will also give you a bad reputation, both among colleagues, and as "the cheap guy" so it'll be difficult to raise your prices later.