• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Will Culick

Will Culick

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 September 2010 - 08:19 PM

Hi guys, I'm kinda new to the Steadicam world but am wanting to purchase a rig...EVENTUALLY. But for starters, I'm looking to purchase a Wireless Follow Focus considering I know two guys who have a rig but no WFF. I've been doing my research on the net and found that my price range falls around a BarTech and a VariZoom. I'm interested in VariZoom because of their new TOC (Total Optical Control) system. I'm sure a BarTech would be a good a beginner like me. However, I like the fact the VarriZoom TOC system allows me to pull Focus, Iris and Zoom since the high end systems (Preston, Scorpio, C-Motion) allows the 1st AC those very same options. Anyway, just wanting to know if the VariZoom TOC system would be the way to go. Any advice would help. Thanks guys.

#2 Bryant Swanstrom

Bryant Swanstrom

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Santa Barbara, CA

Posted 02 September 2010 - 08:39 PM

The varizoom wireless focus system is basically a bartech thats been rebranded from what I understand. http://www.bhphotovi...llow_Focus.html

I have one myself and it is very solid. Love it.

#3 Jess Haas SOC

Jess Haas SOC

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 1145 posts
  • Culver City, CA

Posted 03 September 2010 - 12:30 AM

I don't think the TOC is what you think it is. I believe it is a wired remote for use only with their motion control/remote head. Not at all what you need for Steadicam. If you have access to rigs a Bartech sounds like a good purchase but most importantly if you want to do Steadicam you should take a workshop before doing anything else.

~Jess

#4 Tom Wills

Tom Wills

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 385 posts
  • Philadelphia, PA

Posted 03 September 2010 - 12:44 AM