6 replies to this topic

#1 Graham Schumann

Graham Schumann

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 July 2010 - 08:31 AM

Hi,

I see this forum is largely for the pro crowd! By comparison I'm a pro still shooter looking to dabble.

Q) Will a Black Bird mounted on a Merlin arm/vest kit give me the ability to use 1D4/5DII with grip, + 70-200 f2.8 (worse case, but I have a ton of pro Canon glass), + new AA powered 5" Marshall monitor, for smooth "walking pan" style shots, etc, or is this simply too much weight for a little bird?

I can't see myself spending more than this for a play, but perhaps I should adapting the HD4000 to fly on the Merlin vest instead?

Many thanks.

PS I've done a lot of searching here, but only occasional mention of the BlackBird.

Edited by shoebox9, 02 July 2010 - 08:32 AM.

#2 Erwin Landau

Erwin Landau

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1699 posts
  • TBD

Posted 02 July 2010 - 09:42 AM

Please use your real name!

#3 Graham Schumann

Graham Schumann

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 July 2010 - 07:28 PM

Please use your real name!

No problem, I didn't realise it was manditory. Perhaps this (and good modding) is part of how you maintain such a civil/professional forum.

#4 Graham Schumann

Graham Schumann

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 July 2010 - 07:34 PM

PS What I've described (approx 2.3-2.5kg) is less than the Black Bird's claimed max weight rating of 3.6kg, but I appreciate that doesn't always mean it will work well, especially when we're talking focal lengths greater than 100mm.

Edited by Graham Schumann, 02 July 2010 - 07:34 PM.

#5 Sam Morgan Moore

Sam Morgan Moore

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 238 posts

Posted 07 July 2010 - 11:42 PM

I have a BB and a pilot

I consider the BB a nice handheld stabiliser

5d and 28mm is my preference

I cant see you getting an 80-200 or monitor onboard

----