#1 Jamie McIntyre

Jamie McIntyre

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 72 posts
  • Reading, UK

Posted 28 January 2010 - 06:00 AM

Hi guys,

Here I am, sat at my computer on a Thursday morning wondering what the heck to do next. I have my rig downstairs, all set up and ready to practice with, however, no matter how much practice I do, I don't have anyone to show it to... I have no work at the moment. I am the new kid on the block here in the UK, I feel as if I'm a really small minnow in the bloody Atlantic Ocean, it's extremely daunting. Nevertheless, I am a motivated operator and I'm willing to do anything to work.

I'm only 22, and going to meet people face-to-face, lets say meeting the 'Head of Cameras' at an outside broadcaster - Immediately I feel as if he's going to take one look at me, realise I'm still wet behind the ears and not even give me a chance. Some people say 'who cares' but in 3 or 4 years time will that guy remember me as the 'guy who came begging' for work? Is he good enough? etc etc. I don't want to seem desperate at this stage if it's going to ruin any prospects of future work? Am I thinking about this in completely the wrong way?

A kind chap at a football match I met who works for a British TV company over here said give Alf Tramontin a try! I've been thinking of doing that for a while now, but again, what would I have to say? 'Hey, I'm a newbie, I have my own rig etc etc....'' I just don't want to embarrass myself. However much I'd love to work the broadcast side of Steadicam, I can't bring myself to email people who's reaction will most likely be 'Who the hell are you!?'

I've also written about 20 letters to different production companies/broadcasters which I might send off along with my CV, I guess letters are more personal than emails.... Is that a good idea or am I way off with that one?