2 replies to this topic

#1 Jamie McIntyre

Jamie McIntyre

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 72 posts
  • Reading, UK

Posted 26 January 2010 - 07:34 PM

I've been having some major problems with producers/directors on some student films I worked on about a year ago. I still do not have the footage from productions that were finished in post over 9 months and 'released' 6 months ago. Now, I've sent a few messages to these guys and I get the same reply every time 'I'll send a DVD soon''. I live in the UK now and these films were shot in LA, where I was a student. It seems as if these guys think it's a terribly hard task to send a DVD overseas to the UK...

Should I be more aggressive in my approach to getting my footage? My approach so far has not worked at all - The whole 'please send me my footage' email is getting slightly old now as it generates the same, general response.

Cheers.

#2 Amando Crespo

Amando Crespo

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 776 posts
  • Madrid Spain

Posted 26 January 2010 - 08:06 PM

I've been having some major problems with producers/directors on some student films I worked on about a year ago....

Should I be more aggressive in my approach to getting my footage?...

Cheers.

Hi Jamie. Agressive way is wrong way.
You´re 22 years old and a long life ahead. Like newbie you..wouldn´t fight with producers or directors. Be patient and take it easy. You´re not an stupid or an slave, of course, but in this "war"...You´ll never win. Before to do a work, speak with producers, Dp., director and ask for your footage, and permissions to add your work to your demo-reel. ;)

#3 Brian Freesh

Brian Freesh

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 922 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 26 January 2010 - 08:58 PM

You're not a lone Jamie, I dunno what it is about footage that people find so difficult.