10 replies to this topic

#1 Ian Blewitt

Ian Blewitt

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 November 2009 - 09:32 AM

Hey everyone,
This is my first post, so I want to say Hello first and foremost.

Next, I will be on my first shoot as a dp/operator coming up in December. It will be a hectic schedule as we are flying to Australia to shoot a 30 min festival piece near Brisbane. We have one week prior to do last minute planning, and one week with the actors and some of the expensive rented props (blank firing weapons) to shoot. I am wondering if you guys could give me any advice for the Steadicam shots, as I am still new to it.

The setup will be this:

Steadicam Flyer
HVX-200 with Matte box
Bartech Remote Follow Focus
Titan transmitter kit for the director's monitor
Sennheiser wireless audio

I am literally brand new to Steadicam, and right now I have access to the Flyer and HVX, both of which my school owns. I have been practicing walking and following people every week for the past few weeks and intend to continue to do so until shooting.

Will the matte box and follow focus change a lot or will it be pretty much the same as what I'm using now? (of course the weight difference but will that change anything but initial balancing?)

Thanks so much in advance for your help guys. I'm really excited to learn this fascinating new art.

Ian

#2 Brian Freesh

Brian Freesh

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 922 posts
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 11 November 2009 - 10:26 AM

Hi Ian,

Assuming you find places to mount everything, I think you're really gonna like the additional weight. Since you did not list a lens adapter or 35mm lenses, I assume you're using the plastic adapter on the HVX's focus ring. Be careful with the BFD, you can easily overpower the focus ring. When you calibrate the BFD, do it very carefully, slowly. Don't put the stop on the Bartech at the actual stop of the lens, but just before it.