2 replies to this topic

#1 Patrick Verhey

Patrick Verhey

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 September 2009 - 12:58 AM

Hi everybody,

I´m a total newbie in the steadycam world, but don´t worry I don´t want to get all your secret tips and tricks. Not yet... ;-)

I actually want to check out my realistic chances to work as a steadicam operator in europe, especially in TV buisiness. The last 10 years I was working as Lighting Designer and Operator for event and TV including all new technical features as well as mediaservers, video and camera gear. But at the moment I get totally bored about my job and thinking about something different to do. As I have some experince working with cameras and a lot of general experience in the TV area including picture settings and video techniques I was wondering if I would have a chance to work as Steadicam Operator.

I know that it takes a propper training and good gear to get started and I´m willing to invest the necesary money, time and work. I´m very realistic, so I know that it will be a hard time with a lot of work to really get started.

But I want to be sure not to invest a 30.000 Euros and a lot of work to find out that I will never earn any money with it. So can you give me some advices and ideas how the steps can be? Do I have a chance or is it totally dreaming? Does anyone know the market situtaion in germany especially in TV business?

Thanks for a lot of information, and please be honest. I´m not a dreamer and I want to take this serious.

#2 RobVanGelder

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 915 posts
  • Bangkok, Thailand

Posted 15 September 2009 - 02:04 AM

Hi Patrick, you will get a lot of replies telling you that you have to do a workshop first, only after that you can have an idea if this is something for you.

Besides that, being a good Steadicam operator means that you should have not only a good physical condition , but most importantly you need to have a good eye for composition.