#1 Vicki Smart

Vicki Smart

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Posted 05 August 2009 - 03:02 PM

Hi there.

Well, my name is Vicki and hopefully soon I will be learning how to "fly" as you guys put it. I am a Media Production student and my university has just invested in some kind of rig, I'm not sure if it's a Steadicam or some other type (is it OK to mention other brands here?).

Anyway, I'd really like to ask a few questions, and get some advice. I'm 19 years old, 5ft 2 and about 13 stone, if that has any impact on this. I am also visually impaired, and this is limiting in the fact that I highly doubt I'll ever become a full time camera operator, because of the problems I sometimes have with focussing and fine detail. However, just because I probably won't do it, doesn't mean I'm going to go down without a fight!

I guess the university will provide training, but what will this entail? Do you think it will need to be modified to take my sight into account and do you think I'll take to this or am I just going to fall at some hurdle or other. I have a rig of my own, well, it's not a proper rig, more like a simplified version, but I find that hard to use because I have small shoulders and it's a setup where it sits on one shoulder, so it moves all the time.

Also, what are the key things to remember, should I ever get the chance to operate outside of this training? Will I need to consider anything extra sight-wise? I have limited peripheral vision so that does worry me somewhat. I find that I am a worrier (makes risk assessments fun! not!) so reassurance and kind words, or a reality check would be much appreciated.

Also, can anyone tell me any commonly used acronyms or slang/"in" jokes/words that I might comes across?

#2 Jerry Holway

Jerry Holway

Advanced Member

• Sustaining Members
  • 716 posts
  • Philadelphia

Posted 05 August 2009 - 07:44 PM